2010 Green Earth Book Awards

Since 2005, the Newton Marasco Foundation has been recognizing and honoring books that “inspire a child to grow a deeper appreciation, respect and responsibility for his or her natural environment,” making the Green Earth Book Awards the first environmental stewardship book award for children and young adult literature.

The Green Earth Book Award is awarded in four categories. 2010’s winners are as follows:

Picture Book:
Winner: Miss Fox’s Class Goes Green, written by Eileen Spinelli and illustrated by Anne Kennedy.
Honor Books: Redwoods, written and illustrated by Jason Chin; and
The Curious Garden, written and illustrated by Peter Brown

Children’s Fiction:
Winner: Operation Redwood, written by S. Terrell French.
Honor Book: SCAT, written by Carl Hiaasen

Young Adult Fiction:
Winner: The Carbon Diaries: 2015, written by Saci Lloyd.
Honor Book: A Summer of Silk Moths, written by Margaret Willey

Earth in the Hot Seat: Bulletins from a Warming World, written by Marfé Ferguson Delano
Honor Books: A Place for Birds, written by Melissa Stewart and illustrated by Higgins Bond;
Heroes of the Environment, written by Harriet Rohmer and illustrated by Julie McLaughlin;
Mission: Save the Planet and Mission: Planet Earth, written by Sally Ride & Tom O’Shaughnessy;
Recycle this Book: 100 Top Children’s Authors Tell You How to Go Green, written by Dan Gutman; and
The Frog Scientist, written by Pamela S. Turner and photographed by Andy Comis.

-Anna, Hopewell Branch


Popular posts from this blog

Ocean-in-a-Bottle Craft for Kids

Neil Gaiman Ruined My Life

N.Y.C., What is it about you?